Teams announced for WEC and Le Mans 2017

The provisional entry list for the 2017 season of WEC has been revealed today along with the list of entries and main drivers for the 24 Hours of Le Mans.
A total of 28 teams will take part in this year’s World Endurance Championship with 32 other teams joining them for Le Mans in June.

After Audi left the series at the end of last season the predominant question was what this would mean for this year’s line up. The answer is that there are only three teams competing in the LMP1 class: Porsche, Toyota and Bykolles. Throughout the season there will be five cars competing for the title, but Toyota have already confirmed there will be a third car on the grid for Le Mans.

To complete the numbers: seven teams have entered in LMP2 (ten cars), five in GTE Pro (eight cars) and five in GTE Am (five cars). The season has nine races, with last year’s newcomer Mexico being maintained for this year. No Garage 56 entry has been named and there have been reports there will be no entry in 2017, however nothing has been confirmed.

A noticeable difference in LMP2 is the new car: Oreca 07 which for some teams replaces the Ligier.
No Chevrolet Corvette will grace the tracks in GTE Am, so the main names in GTE (both Pro and AM) remain the same: Ferrari, Porsche and Aston Martin.

For further information see the official FIA WEC website.

Featured image courtesy of Nicky Hofland

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top