Formula 2

Russian Time retains Markelov and signs Makino as Formula 2 confirms 2018 teams

Amidst Formula 2 confirming all the teams that are competing in the 2018 season, Russian Time have announced that they will retain long term Russian youngster Artem Markelov and sign Honda young driver Tadasuke Makino in a news announcement on their website.

Artem Markelov is something of a veteran in Formula 2 with 86 races will be staying on with the team for his fifth successive season, He is partnered by Honda development driver Tadasuke Makino who competed in European Formula 3 last year.

Photo credit: Russian Time

“We had a strong season in 2017 when I won five times and finished second to Charles Leclerc in the championship, so it would be nice to go one better.” stated Markelov, Eager to get racing once again. 

Makino who is a member of the Honda Formula Dream Project (HFDP) has competed in Japanese Formula 4, Formula 3 and Super GT before competing with Hitech GP in the European category of Formula 3 where he finished 15th in the standings and gained a single podium in Austria, Leaving some people wondering whether he deserves a drive with the current top team of Formula 2.

Quick to dismiss any doubters Makino said; “I started karting at five and always had a dream to race in motorsport’s top category, I am now another step closer to that. I’m really looking forward to racing with last year’s champion team, Russian Time. Thank-you to all the fans and everyone who has supported me. I’m hoping to meet everyone’s expectations.”

The 2018 season will be Russian Time’s sixth season in GP2/F2 winning 16 races in that time and holds an impressive achievement of winning the teams championship in its first year of competing.


This now confirms yet another lineup for the 2018 grid, Here is what we know so far.

Russian Time: Artem Markelov, Tadasuke Makino
Prema Racing: Sean Gelael, Nyck de Vries
ART Grand Prix: Jack Aitken, George Russell
MP Motorsport: TBA, TBA
Arden International: Nirei Fukuzumi, TBA
Campos Racing: Luca Ghiotto, TBA
Trident: TBA, TBA
Carlin: Lando Norris, Sergio Sette Camara
Charouz Racing System: Louis Deletraz, Antonio Fuoco



code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top