Will Palmer to compete in GP3 for MP Motorsport in 2018

Feature Image Credit - Joe Portlock/GP3 Series

British driver Will Palmer has signed for MP Motorsport and will compete in the 2018 GP3 Series.

Palmer, who finished runner up in the Formula Renault Eurocup in 2017, joined the Dutch squad late for the final pre-season test at Barcelona and impressed the team over the two days to secure a seat for their debut year in the Formula 1 feeder series.

“It’s wonderful to be able to make the step up to GP3” said Palmer, a former winner of the Mclaren BRDC Young Driver Award, “and I’m very happy to do so with MP Motorsport. The Barcelona test gave me the confidence that together we can get the job done”.

“Will has been outstanding in Formula Renault 2.0 last season” said Sander Dorsman, team manager for MP Motorsport, “so we are extremely pleased that we have signed him up for his first season in GP3.”.

Series rookie Palmer will be joined in the team by the experience of Niko Kari and Dorian Boccolacci, who both featured in the top ten of the championship points in 2017, and Palmer and Dorsman were quick to praise this fact.

“Having two very strong and experienced team mates in Niko and Dorian will provide me with a good benchmark, as well as help me to quickly get to grips with the car and category” said Palmer.

“With Will, Niko and Dorian, our 2018 GP3 line-up now consists of three established frontrunners. We are very much looking forward to starting the season with three of the quickest guys around.” commented Dorsman.

With the announcement of Will Palmer at MP Motorsport now confirmed, every team on the GP3 grid has three drivers signed up so far, except for reigning champions ART Grand Prix who will continue with four driver approach like last season.

GP3 line-up so far

Arden – Gabriel Aubry, Julien Falchero, Joey Mawson
ART Grand Prix – Anthonine Hubert, Jake Hughes, Callum Ilott, Nikita Mazepin
Campos Racing – Diego Menchaca, Simo Laaksonen, Leonardo Pulcini
Jenzer Motorsport – David Beckmann, Tatiana Calderon, Juan Manuel Correa
MP Motorsport – Dorian Boccolacci, Niko Kari, Will Palmer
Trident – Giuliano Alesi, Alessio Lorandi, Ryan Tveter



code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top