Formula E

Buemi takes pole in Berlin

Nissan NISMO Twitter (@NISMO)

Sebastien Buemi topples Stoffel Vandoorne in Super Pole to take pole position for the Berlin EPrix.

The Nissan e.dams driver took his second pole position of the ABB FIA Formula E 2018/19 season after recording the fastest first and third second sector times on his flying lap.

Vandoorne was fastest after the group stages of qualifying in the HWA Racelab. He remained in contention for pole until the final corner where he carried too much speed on entry, which lost him vital time against Buemi.

Lucas Di Grassi was the only driver to make it through to Super Pole from Group 1 and secured third for Audi, despite a big slide at turn one. Di Grassi will start ahead of Gary Paffett, in the second HWA, Alex Lynn and Alexander Sims. Sims however is carrying a five place grid penalty from the last race in Monaco.

Just missing out on Super Pole was Daniel Abt, who was knocked out in the last moments by Paffett. However Abt is under investigation for the breach of article 33.2 which states that teams must not work on their cars from five minutes before the start of qualifying.

Antonio Felix Da Coata qualified eighth ahead of championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne. Whilst Jerome D’Ambrosio rounded out the top 10 ahead of his Mahindra teammate Pascal Wherlein.

Edoardo Mortara was unable to replicate his pace from Friday’s practice sessions and qualified down in 16th for Venturi. Whilst teammate Felipe Massa clipped the wall twice on his flying lap and finished 19th.

Robin Frijns and Andre Lotterer will start on the back row. Frijns reported a susepected problem on his flying lap which cost him time.

Lotterer was unable to set a flying lap time in group one as he missed the cut at the end of his second warm-up lap. Lotterer will however start ahead of Frijns, who carries a five place grid penalty from Monaco.

Buemi will be looking to take his first win of the season later today to become the ninth winner from 10 races.

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top