Gronholm wins in South Africa with Timmy Hansen crowned champion


Niclas Gronholm took the win in Cape Town amongst championship drama.

At the final round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship the driver’s title fight went down to the last race which saw drama and an investigation.

Going into the final Timmy Hansen maintained a two point lead from Andreas Bakkerud after both drivers won their semi-finals. Bakkerud got the jump on Hansen off the line to take the lead going into turn one.

Going round the hairpin on the first lap Bakkerud went wide which left the door open for Hansen. There was contact which saw Bakkerud hitting the wall and bouncing off into Hansen. Hansen spun round into the wall also hitting brother Kevin Hansen. Bakkerud resumed but in second place with Gronholm taking up the lead position.

The two Hansen brothers also rejoined the race but behind Timo Scheider. These positions would have been enough for Bakkerud to take the title. However a problem onboard Scheider’s car saw him retire from the race which promoted Timmy Hansen to fourth.

With Bakkerud finishing second and Timmy Hansen fourth it meant the two drivers were equal on points. On countback it crowned Hansen as champion with four wins to Bakkerud’s one.

Niclas Gronholm went on to take his second win of the season, whilst GRX Taneco teammate, Timur Timerzyanov, came through from the back row to complete the podium.

The incident involving Bakkerud and Timmy Hansen was under investigation but hours later it was announced that no further action would be taken confirming Hansen as the 2019 World RX champion.

Earlier in the day Team Hansen MJP also secured the Team’s Championship.

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site thefootballforecast.com
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Mattias Adielsson wins World RX Esports Invitational Catalunya Edition - Overtake Motorsport

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top