Formula 1 returns for the Spanish Virtual GP this weekend.

F1 racers and Celebrities will be looking for glory this Sunday 18:00 BST

This Sunday will see Formula One stars, professional motor racers, top flight footballers and more compete in the Spanish round of the immensely successful Formula One Virtual Grand Prix.

Sunday 10th of May should have been the weekend that the Spanish Grand Prix was to take place. However during the COVID-19 outbreak, the #WeRaceOn movement will seek to entertain the masses by continuing the livestreamed Formula One Virtual Grand Prix Series. Three rounds have taken place so far with a host of huge names taking part and this weekend will be no different as Argentine footballing superstar Sergio Aguero will be racing, surely looking to beat Barcelona team mate and virtual GP newcomer, Arthur Melo.

But, they also face stiff competition from the host of Formula One drivers taking part. One week after his first Formula One Esports victory, Alexander Albon will be looking to deny both Charles Leclerc and George Russell to make it two wins in two weeks. The previous three races saw domination from Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc until Alexander Albon broke the stranglehold and took victory in the Brazilian Virtual Grand Prix. George Russell finished 2nd, due to a time penalty for Leclerc. marking the Briton’s 2nd podium in three races. Lando Norris has been having a less than successful time of late with connection issues marring most of his appearances in the Virtual GP and being front and centre of a particularly controversial Indy 500 appearance on iRacing. He, Nicolas Latifi and Antonio Giovanazzi will be looking to break on to the podium this week, to match the success of their Formula One counterparts.

The race in Spain will feature 6 current F1 drivers, 2 former F1 drivers, 5 more professional motor racers and 4 sports stars including Virtual GP frequenter, Ian Poulter. The full line up, with 3 racers still to be announced is below:

FDA Hublot Esports – Charles Leclerc and Antonio Fuoco

Mercedes – Esteban Gutierrez and TBA

Red Bull – Alexander Albon and Sergio Aguero

Williams – George Russell and Nicolas Latifi

McLaren – Lando Norris and TBA

Alfa Romeo – Antonio Giovinazzi and Thibaut Courtois

Alpha Tauri – Vitantonio Luizzi and Andrea Pirello

Haas – Pietro Fittipaldi and Arthur Melo

Racing Point – David Schumacher and TBA

Renault – Ian Poulter and Max Fewtrell

Formula One will be streaming the race live on their channel at 18:00 BST.




Feature Image Credit – Formula One

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top