George Russell takes victory in tense virtual Spanish GP.

Russell wins superb Spanish VGP

George Russel takes victory after later drama in the Virtual Spanish Grand Prix, ahead of Charles Leclerc and Esteban Gutierrez.

George Russell started the event in good form, taking pole position after a stunning lap, clocking in at a 1:16.7. Esteban Gutierrez surprised many with a solid lap taking him to 2nd and Leclerc took the final top 3 spot, only just pipping teammate Fuoco by 0.1 of a second. Norris was due to start 8th but faced a 5 place grid penalty for a collision with Leclerc.

As the lights went out, Russell saw his qualifying effort being thrown away as he was swamped by 4 drivers off the start. Gutierrez led after lap 1 but was overtaken by Leclerc with a superb move the first corner. The race then became a game of strategy as Albon attempted to out manoeuvre the leaders with an ambitious 2 stop strategy. Russell, Leclerc and Guiterrez stuck with a 1 stop, but had significant trouble handling their cars at the end of the race. While battling Leclerc for first, Russell extended track limits on numerous occasions and gained a 3 second penalty, seemingly handing the race to Leclerc. Russell, however, kept pushing and took the lead with a composed overtake on lap 25. It then became a race for Russell to break Leclerc’s DRS advantage and attempt to build a 3 second lead. Russell managed to break the DRS gap with 2 laps to go but was destined for 2nd until Leclerc recieved a 3 second penalty on the penultimate lap for extending track limits. Russell held his nerve and took his first win since Abu Dhabi in 2018.

Sergio Aguero made his VGP debut and finished a very respectable 14th ahead of teammate Arthur Melo and golfer Ian Poulter.

Race result is posted below:

  1. George Russell
  2. Charles Leclerc +2.503
  3. Esteban Gutierrez +1.662
  4. Alex Albon +4.662
  5. Nicolas Latifi +5.639
  6. Anthony Davidson +5.069
  7. Antonio Giovanazzi +1.443
  8. Pietro Fittipaldi +12.407
  9. Antoio Fuoco +10.131
  10. Max Fewtrell +7.715
  11. Jimmy Broadbent +6.440
  12. Thibaut Courtois +0.761
  13. David Schumacher +12.909
  14. Serigo Aguero – N/A
  15. Nic Hamilton +1.065
  16. Vitantonio Luizzi – N/A
  17. Pirillo Andrea +2.223
  18. Ian Poulter +31.364
  19. Arthur Melo + 1 lap
  20.  Lando Norris – DNF



Feature Image Credit: Formula 1

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Chris Hunt

    May 10, 2020 at 7:11 pm

    Apologies, spelling error line 1 Russell not Russel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top