British Formula 3

Action all round as British F3 iRacing championship kicks off

Feature Image Credit: British F3

It was an action-packed opening round of the British F3 iRacing championship at Oulton Park with strong performances across the board.

It was a packed grid with 25 drivers lining up for the opening round of the inaugural British F3 iRacing Championship at Oulton Park on Sunday (17th) and it was Chris Dittmann Racing’s Nico Varrone who stole an early march on his rivals with a pair of top notch performances.

A stellar cast of current and former BRDC British F3 contenders, as well as several former BRDC F4 drivers lined up for the evenings events, comprising of practice, qualifying and two races, with the second being a full reverse grid.

Varrone started race one from pole after setting the pace in qualifying and set up a healthy lead in the early stages from Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award winner Johnathan Hoggard.  The Argentine remained unflustered, even while lapping traffic and claimed the victory by 1.23 seconds from Hoggard.

Kieran Vernon, a former BRDC F4 contender, completed the podium, five seconds back from Hoggard.

British F3 debutant Piers Prior was fourth for Lanan Racing, showing strong potential.

The second race provided plenty of drama, with Double R Racing’s Louis Foster claiming his first win of the championship.

The second race was a reverse grid meaning that Foster started on pole, and he kept clear of the carnage behind him.  Race one winner Varrone took his chance, avoided the mayhem around him and rocketed up the order from 25th to the top 10 within a couple of laps.

Yet more carnage at the end of lap two enabled Varrone to pounce again and move info fifth place.

A spin for Jamie Caroline promoted Varrone to fourth and another incident ,this time for Oliver Clarke moved Varrone onto the podium.  Traffic finally demoted him to fourth as leader Foster survived a spin to just hold the lead from JHR Development’s Carter Williams.

British F3 iRacing Championship Round 1 Race 1

  1. Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing           14 LAPS
  2. Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports        +1.232
  3. Kieran Vernon Chris Dittmann Racing          +6.339
  4. Piers Prior Lanan Racing                             +6.893
  5. Will Palmer Independent                           +10.912
  6. Oliver Clarke Hillspeed                              +15.192

British F3 iRacing Championship Round 1 Race 2

  1. Louis Foster Double R Racing                    14 LAPS
  2. Enaam Ahmed Carlin                                 +3.256
  3. Carter Williams JHR Developments             +6.316
  4. Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing           +6.409
  5. Jamie Caroline Carlin                               +11.157
  6. Piers Prior Lanan Racing                           +17.816

Round two takes place at a virtual Spa on Sunday 24th at 6pm on all British F3 social media channels

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top