George Russell wins thrilling Monaco Virtual Grand Prix.

George Russell makes it two wins in two races.

George Russell makes it back to back Virtual GP wins after a dominant performance in the principality, ahead of former Formula 1 racer Esteban Guiterrez and Monegasque Charles Leclerc.

While the first round of the Formula 1 2020 season is yet to take place, a record 8 current Formula 1 drivers and 13 celebrities took to the Formula 1 2019 game to entertain audiences during lockdown with the continuation of the #WeRaceOn series.

Pietro Fittipaldi, grandson of champion Emerson, took a stunning pole in the wet, ahead of George Russell and David Schumacher, a top 3 that shocked many, with the other current Formula 1 drivers having to settle with starting in the midfield. But, Fittipaldi was unable to convert his pole as he fell behind George Russell off the starting line, eventually finishing 6th. George Russell controlled the first stint setting multiple fastest laps as fellow F1 drivers Charles Leclerc and Lando Norris battled Arthur Leclerc and Esteban Guiterrez, providing audiences with nail biting action.

After completing his one stop strategy, George Russell dominated the race, setting the fastest lap en route to his eventual victory. Esteban Guiterrez had a stunning drive, managing to battle his way up the order before a controversial overtake on Charles Leclrec placed him in 2nd. 7 time race winner Valterri Bottas made his Virtual GP debut, but, after impressing in qualifying, the Mercedes driver fell down to 16th early in the race, managing to recover to 11th, just outside the points. Arsenal Striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang also had his VGP debut and finished 16th after spending most of the race down the order.

Full race results:

  1. George Russell
  2. Esteban Gutierrez
  3. Charles Leclerc
  4. Alex Albon
  5. Arthur Leclrec
  6. Pietro Fittipaldi
  7. Lando Norris
  8. Nicolas Latifi
  9. Louis Deletraz
  10. David Schumacher
  11. Valterri Bottas
  12. Luca Salvadori
  13. Thibaut Courtois
  14. Nico Prost
  15. Antonio Giovanazzi (Disconnected)
  16. Pierre Aubameyang
  17. Kai Lenny
  18. Luis Fonsi
  19. Vitantoni Luizzi

Fastest Lap: George Russell

Feature Image Credit:

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top