British Formula 3

Thrills and spills as British F3 arrives at Silverstone

Feature Image Credit: British F3

The British F3 iRacing Championship heated up on Sunday (31st May) with Nico Varrone and Piers Prior claiming victories in a cracking pair of races from Silverstone.

Championship leader and Chris Dittmann Racing ace, Nico Varrone took pole position for race one, less than a tenth clear of Hillspeed’s Oliver Clarke, with Douglas Motorsport’s Ulysse De Pauw and guest driver Will Power completing the second row in a cracking qualifying.

Varrone led as the lights went out, but behind him an incident between Power and former BRDC F4 star Jake Dalton saw Power end up at the back of the field.

Accidents further down the back of the grid allowed Fortec pair Johnathan Hoggard and Tom Gamble to move well into the top 10 as Varrone lead out front.  More drama on track allowed Power to take advantage and recover to just outside the top 10.  With Varrone continuing to edge out lead over De Pauw, and Clarke plenty of drama unfolded behind.

A melee on lap four between Gamble, Prior and Carlin’s Nicolai Kjaergaard at the Vale, helped dent the Lanan driver’s championship aspirations.

At the front, Argentine Varrone was busy building a lead, and was able to take his second win of the championship, over three seconds clear of De Pauw, with Fortec’s Hoggard recovering from a poor qualifying to take a podium place with third.

The following reverse grid race saw Gamble start on pole after his difficult race one.  Lanan’s Josh Mason in P2 and Hillspeed’s Vladimiros Tziortzis lining up third.

But it was Prior who shot into the lead from P6 ahead of teammate Mason, while plenty of drama allowed race one winner Varrone moved up to 15th from 24th.

At the front Prior had built a lead of three seconds after Mason dropped down to fourth, with Douglas Motorsport’s Harrison Scott who amazingly was racing with a broken wrist and Carlin’s Enaam Ahmed moving into the podium places.

More drama on lap four moved Varrone into the top 10, after De Pauw and Clarke collided at Brooklands.  A battle further down the grid between Power and Kjaergaard saw the Indy Car driver give Kjaergaard the lightest of taps at Village allowing the Australian to move into fifth at the Dane’s expense.

Varrone gained two more places on lap six as Kjaergaard and Hingeley collided at The Loop, Power surged Mason for fourth on lap seven, with Mason colliding with Hoggard to add insult to injury.

Despite a late charge from Power, who was having an action packed race, Prior claimed victory by three seconds from Scott.  Ahmed held off Power, with Horsten and Varrone completing the top six. Varrone continued his excellent form in this iRacing championship by gaining 19 places across the race.

British F3 iRacing Championship, Race 1, Round 3

  1. Nico Varrone Chris Dittman Racing  12 LAPS
  2. Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport  +3.400
  3. Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports  +4.102
  4. Oliver Clarke Hillspeed  +6.919
  5. Louis Foster Double R Racing  +18.189
  6. Bart Horsten Lanan Racing  +21.431

British F3 iRacing Championship, Race 2, Round 3

  1. Piers Prior Lanan Racing  12 LAPS
  2. Harrison Scott Douglas Motorsport  +3.282
  3. Enaam Ahmed Carlin  +4.488
  4. Will Power Independent  +5.426
  5. Bart Horsten Lanan Racing  +7.222
  6. Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing  +10.999

The next round is once again on Sunday 7th at 6pm at a virtual Brands Hatch.

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top