Formula 2

Callum Ilott claims F2 pole in wet Hungarian GP qualifying

Callum Ilott

Callum Ilott will start Saturday’s FIA Formula 2 feature race from pole position for Virtuosi after topping a shortened wet qualifying at Budapest.

While many drivers spun on a slippery track, Ilott – who sits joint second in the standings – set a best time of 1m50.767s to jump ahead of previous pace setter Luca Ghiotto before red flags brought an early end to the session with four minutes remaining.

The red flag – the second of the session – was caused by a spin into the gravel for Jehan Daruvala. The Carlin driver had set the pace in the first few minutes before an early red flag due to a spin for Guilherme Samaia, but ended up in 15th.

Ghiotto was second fastest for F2 rookies Hitech, with Guanyu Zhou in third to once again underline Virtuosi’s strong pace so far this season.

Williams F1 development driver Dan Ticktum was fourth for DAMS, ahead of Prema’s Mick Schumacher, who is looking to bounce back this weekend from a difficult start to the season.

Christian Lundgaard, winner last time out, was sixth ahead of ART team-mate Marcus Armstrong.

Campos driver Jack Aitken was eighth, just four thousandths of a second quicker than the second DAMS of Sean Gelael.

HWA’s Giuliano Alesi, who topped the earlier free practice session, was tenth, with championship leader Robert Shwartzman qualifying down in 11th for Prema.


Qualifying results

1 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m50.767s
2 Luca Ghiotto Hitech +0.308s
3 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi +0.523s
4 Dan Ticktum DAMS +0.612s
5 Mick Schumacher Prema +0.817s
6 Christian Lundgaard ART +0.962s
7 Marcus Armstrong ART +1.195s
8 Jack Aitken Campos +1.729s
9 Sean Gelael DAMS +1.733s
10 Giuliano Alesi HWA +1.800s
11 Robert Shwartzman Prema +1.948s
12 Louis Deletraz Charouz +1.962s
13 Pedro Piquet Charouz +2.103
14 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin +2.448s
15 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +2.521s
16 Nikita Mazepin Hitech +2.695s
17 Artem Markelov HWA +2.802s
18 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport +2.816s
19 Marino Sato Trident +2.891s
20 Roy Nissany Trident +3.969s
21 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport +5.102s
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos no time


Feature image credit: @VirtuosiRacing official twitter

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top