Formula 2

Drugovich takes F2 pole as Shwartzman struggles at Silverstone

A mighty lap saw MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich secure his maiden FIA Formula 2 pole position for Saturday’s feature race at Silverstone. 

But championship leader Robert Shwartzman will start in 18th place after struggling throughout practice and qualifying, with closest rival Callum Ilott in second for Virtuosi.

Carlin had looked the early favourites for pole, with free practice pacesetter Yuki Tsunoda topping the timesheets in the first few minutes of qualifying with a time of 1m40.216s‎.

After brief spells at the top from Campos Racing’s Jack Aitken and ART’s Christian Lundgaard, the other Carlin of Yehan Daruvala went fastest with a 1m40.140s lap. 

But with six minutes remaining Drugovich bettered that time by six tenths of a second after a fast middle sector of his lap. With nobody able to beat that time in the remaining minutes, Drugovich took pole, giving him a chance to add to his sprint race win in the opening round of the season at the Red Bull Ring. 

Ilott jumped to second in the closing stages, over a tenth behind Drugovich, while a late lap from Prema’s Mick Schumacher saw him finish third despite an incident with Trident’s Roy Nissany earlier in the session. 

Schumacher had been unhappy with Nissany for blocking him as he neared the end of an early qualifying effort, with the stewards due to investigate the matter after the session.

Shwartzman also faces a trip to the stewards after blocking Sean Gelael on Hangar Straight, the DAMS driver unhappy with being forced to take evasive action.

Lundgaard ended up in fourth ahead of Hitech’s Nikita Mazepin and Aitken.

The Carlin duo of Daruvala and Tsunoda finished the session in seventh and ninth respectively, separated by Guanyu Zhou in eighth for Virtuosi.

Louis Deletraz rounded out the top ten for Charouz.‌

Qualifying results

1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m39.527s
2 Callum Ilott Virtuosi +0.139s
3 Mick Schumacher Prema +0.234s
4 Christian Lundgaard ART +0.319s
5 Nikita Mazepin Hitech +0.436s
6 Jack Aitken Campos +0.555s
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +0.613s
8 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi +0.653s
9 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin +0.689s
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz +0.797s
11 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport +0.820s
12 Dan Ticktum DAMS +0.869s
13 Luca Ghiotto Hitech +0.894s
14 Pedro Piquet Charouz +0.916s
15 Marcus Armstrong ART +0.921s
16 Sean Gelael DAMS +0.949s
17 Marino Sato Trident +1.431s
18 Robert Shwartzman Prema +1.520s
19 Roy Nissany Trident +1.525s
20 Giuliano Alesi HWA +1.747s
21 Artem Markelov HWA +1.815s
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos +2.677s


Feature image credit: @fia_f2 official twitter

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top