Formula E

Rosenqvist continues winning streak with pole for Berlin race two

Felix Rosenqvist secured the second pole position of his career ahead of the Berlin ePrix. The Mahindra driver is now tied with Nico Prost for third in the constructors’ championship.

Rosenqvist took fifth in the group stages of qualifying, only just managing to make it to the Super Pole shoot out. His Super Pole lap was slower than the one he set in the group stages, but it was enough to put him on pole.

Team mate Nick Heidfeld will start at the opposite end of the grid. He was unable to complete a 200kW lap during the group stages, and said afterwards that the car didn’t accelerate when he pressed the throttle. The Mahindra driver stopped the car on track to try to resolve the issue, but it didn’t work. He will start this afternoon’s race from 20th on the grid.

After a frustrating day yesterday, Sebastien Buemi was looking to get the best start for the second Berlin ePrix. He could only manage fourth in the group stages – a considerable improvement from his race one effort – but set the second quickest time in the Super Pole shoot out. He was less than a tenth of a second slower than Rosenqvist, and will start from the front row of the grid.

DS Virgin locked out the second row of the grid. Sam Bird was fastest in the group stages but, like yesterday, a mistake on his Super Pole lap meant he’d be starting further back. The Brit starts fourth, just behind Jose Maria Lopez.

Jean-Eric Vergne completed the top five.

Oliver Turvey narrowly missed out on the Super Pole shoot out. The NEXTEV car appeared to struggle with the long straights of the Tempelhof track, but Turvey managed an impressive lap to finish sixth fastest, just a tenth of a second behind Rosenqvist.

Team mate Nelson Piquet wasn’t quite as quick. Out in the first qualifying group, a disappointing time for the season one champion meant he would be 18th by the end of the session.

Jaguar’s Mitch Evans was another driver who impressed. Yesterday’s fastest lap setter was ninth fastest, just behind Daniel Abt and Lucas Di Grassi.

Nico Prost completed the top ten.

Feature image credit: FIA Formula E Media

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top