Formula E

Dennis Dominates in Valencia to Take Maiden Formula E Victory

Featured Image Credit: @BMWMotorsport Twitter

Jake Dennis has sealed his maiden Formula E victory in Valencia following a dominant display around the Ricardo Tormo Circuit.

Jake Dennis started on pole for round six of the 2021 Formula E championship in Valencia. Alongside the BMW driver was fellow Brit Alex Lynn who was promoted to second place following a pre-race penalty for Andre Lotterer.

@BMWMotorsport Twitter

Dennis made a clean start holding the lead from Lynn into the opening corners. Meanwhile, Frenchman Norman Nato made progress into P4 whilst fellow Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne jostled with Andre Lotterer for position.

Lynn and Mahindra took the tactical decision to remain behind Dennis as the slipstream proved predictably effective.

Edoardo Mortara was one of the biggest gainers in the opening laps, making ambitious overtakes as he carved through the grid. Vergne also made progress, moving ahead of Blomqvist to seize P5 just under 10 minutes into the race.

@BMWMotorsport Twitter

Di Grassi and Muller were the first drivers in the field to activate their attack modes with Turvey the first of the leading group to activate his. In the process of taking his attack mode, Turvey lost position to Nato.

In the following laps, Turvey lost further positions to both Vergne and Lotterer as both drivers used the final seconds of their attack modes to make the pass on the Nio.

However, Lotterer wasn’t done yet with another overtaking maneuver successfully made on former teammate Jean-Eric Vergne. Lotterer’s progress into fourth allowed the German driver to pursue the Venturi of Nato in third.


Despite this challenge, Nato appeared calm and collected, maintaining greater pace than both the leaders.The French driver looked set to achieve his maiden Formula E podium position until an incident with Alex Lynn.

@VenturiFE Twitter

Lynn lost four positions after being clipped by the Venturi driver into one of the circuit’s tight corners. Despite Lynn escaping the incident without any damage, Nato was handed a five second penalty.

As the race approached it’s closing stages, fierce fighting occurred across the field. The most impressive mover was Rene Rast who methodically carved his way through the grid into third.

Yesterday’s podium sitter Stoffel Vandoorne was forced to retire due to damage following contact with Sebastian Buemi. Neither driver received a penalty with the incident declared a racing incident. A driver who did receive a penalty was Antonio Felix Da Costa, the victim of a drive through penalty for improper use of attack mode.

@MercedesEQFE Twitter

In the end, it was a dominant maiden victory for British driver Jake Dennis. Norman Nato finished second on-track but after his penalty was applied, the Venturi dropped down to fifth.
As a result of this penalty, Andre Lotterer secured his first podium of the year ahead of Alex Lynn in third.

With none of the championship frontrunners gaining points in round six, all drivers will be hoping to make up for lost ground in Monaco.

Follow Overtake Motorsport for coverage of the Monaco E-Prix on the 8th May.


J. Dennis          BMW I Andretti Motorsport
A. Lotterer       Tag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team
A. Lynn            Mahindra Racing
O. Rowland     Nissan E Dams
N. Nato           ROKIT Venturi Racing
R. Rast             Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
J.E Vergne       DS Techeetah
O. Turvey        NIO 333 FE Team
E. Mortara      ROKIT Venturi Racing
L. Di Grassi     Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler


Featured Image Credit: @BMWMotorsport


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top