FIA Formula 3: Alexander Smolyar seals his second victory in the opening race of the French Grand Prix

Feature Image Credit: FIA F3 Instagram

Last Race 1 FIA Formula 3 winner Alexander Smolyar wins the first race of the French Grand Prix with a last-minute battle in overtaking the rookie Victor Martins.

ART’s Alexander Smolyar secured his second win of the season after a thrilling battle between the Russian driver and MP Motorsport’s Victor Martins just a few seconds before the race ended.

Smolyar saw the chequered flag first ahead of Victor Martins, who has been trying to pressure the Russian driver to stay behind him to take his maiden Formula 3 victory at his home race.

Pole sitter Calan Williams managed to climb his way up to third after losing the race lead as he scored his first points in F3 and a podium following his way through.

Logan Sargeant ended the race in fourth fastest for ART after leading the race for seven laps in total before Ayumu Iwasa takes over.

Iwasa didn’t make it to the top 5; he received a five-second penalty while running in P3 due to an incident between him and Logan Sargeant that cost him to lose a few positions behind as he finished the race in eighth fastest.

Clement Novalak rounded out the top 5 for Trident with Juan Manuel Correa in his best race finish in sixth fastest for ART, followed by the second Trident driver Jack Doohan in seventh.

Ayumu Iwasa was eighth for Hitech, ahead of the championship leader Dennis Hauger in ninth and his teammate Olli Caldwell in tenth fastest for Prema Racing.

As the third Prema Racing driver to finish outside the top ten, Arthur Leclerc performed a brilliant drive as he climbed his way up to 12th after starting the race from the back of the grid.

The Monegasque driver will start on pole position on Race 2, which begins at 4.40 PM local time in France.

Race 1 result:

1 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix
2 Victor Martins MP Motorsport
3 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport
4 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System
5 Clement Novalak Trident
6 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix
7 Jack Doohan Trident
8 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech Grand Prix
9 Dennis Hauger Prema Racing
10 Olli Caldwell Prema Racing
11 Jak Crawford Hitech Grand Prix
12 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing
13 Caio Collet MP Motorsport
14 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing
15 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix
16 David Schumacher Trident
17 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab
18 Pierre-Louis Chovet Campos Racing
19 Reshad De Gerus Charouz Racing System
20 Kaylen Frederick Carlin Buzz Racing
21 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System
22 Ido Cohen Carlin Buzz Racing
23 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab
24 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport
25 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab
26 Roman Stanek Hitech Grand Prix
27 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing
28 Jonny Edgar Carlin Buzz Racing
29 Tjimen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport
30 Jonathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top