FIA Formula 3: Caio Collet beats teammate Victor Martins in the final free practice session at Sochi

Feature Image Credit: Caio Collet Instagram

MP Motorsport’s duo, Caio Collet and Victor Martins, takes a one-two lead in the opening session of the Russian Grand Prix, separated by just two-tenths of a second ahead of ART’s Frederik Vesti in a week to prove.

The final race of the FIA Formula 3 will be happening this weekend, with the intense championship battle between the two contenders, Dennis Hauger and Jack Doohan, only separated by 43 points.

Both of the drivers didn’t make it to the top of the board in free practice. Hauger and Doohan got stuck in traffic, but the pair improved to P8 and P12.

Caio Collet managed to top the final free practice session, setting the barrier into 1:54s, going quickest ahead of his teammate Victor Martins in second for MP Motorsport, with Frederik Vesti completing the top three.

Hitech’s Ayumu Iwasa dropped to fourth after setting his personal best in all three sectors, with Matteo Nannini in fifth fastest for HWA Racelab.

Clement Novalak made it to sixth for Trident, with Charouz Racing’s Logan Sargeant in seventh as the championship leader, Dennis Hauger, finished the 45 minutes session behind the American driver for Prema Racing.

Hauger got forced to pull out of a flayer after the Norwegian driver got stuck in traffic after two purple sectors as he managed to finish in eighth fastest with a fast lap.

Oliver Rasmussen was ninth fastest for HWA Racelab, ahead of Prema Racing’s Arthur Leclerc as the last two drivers to make it inside the top 10.

The final qualifying session of the 2021 season will take place at 1 PM local time.

Free Practice session result:

1 Caio Collet 1:54.087
2 Victor Martins 1:54.170
3 Frederik Vesti 1:54.384
4 Ayumu Iwasa 1:54.389
5 Matteo Nannini 1:54.395
6 Clement Novalak 1:54.420
7 Logan Sargeant 1:54.426
8 Dennis Hauger 1:54.463
9 Oliver Rasmussen 1:54.508
10 Arthur Leclerc 1:54.591
11 Jak Crawford 1:54.601
12 Jack Doohan 1:54.655
13 Roman Stanek 1:54.663
14 Alexander Smolyar 1:54.683
15 Calan Williams 1:54.693
16 Johnathan Hoggard 1:54.839
17 Olli Caldwell 1:54.841
18 Juan Manuel Correa 1:54.971
19 David Schumacher 1:55.007
20 Jonny Edgar 1:55.164
21 Lorenzo Colombo 1:55.245
22 Tjimen Van Der Helm 1:55.433
23 Kaylen Frederick 1:55.682
24 Ido Cohen 1:55.983
25 Laszlo Toth 1:56.014
26 Amaury Cordeel 1:56.020
27 Filip Ugran 1:56.584
28 Rafael Villagomez 1:56.632
29 Ayrton Simmon 1:56.681
30 Zdenek Chovanec 1:57.082


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top