BTCC: Hill holds off Lloyd to take reverse grid victory

@MBMotorsport_ on Twitter

Jake Hill won for the second weekend in a row after passing polesitter Dan Lloyd early in the race.

Lloyd started very well, comfortably leading into Copse ahead of Hill and Stephen Jelley.

Jason Plato had a poor start eventually settling in fifth behind Chris Smiley.

A scary looking incident then occurred, with Tom Chilton and Sam Osborne making contact on the exit of Copse with Osborne being sent across the track sideways.

Both drivers were able to carry on.

Hill started to close the gap to Lloyd eventually closing into within quarter-of-a-second on lap 6.

Hill made his move through Luffield on lap 10, taking the lead at Copse on lap 11.

Behind the leaders, the battle for the podium was heating up with Smiley doing a good of keeping Sutton behind.

It didn’t last though, with Sutton passing the Hyundai on lap 16.

Lloyd put the pressure on Hill for the rest of the race but the Ford driver was able to hold on and take his second victory of 2021.

Sutton completed the podium ahead of Smiley and Jelley.

Plato came home sixth just in front Aiden Moffat and Colin Turkington with Dan Rowbottom and Ollie Jackson rounding out the top 10.

Silverstone Race 3 Results

  1. Jake Hill                                                                21.24.184
  2. Dan Lloyd                                                                +0.698s
  3. Ash Sutton                                                               +1.444s
  4. Chris Smiley                                                            +4.474s
  5. Stephen Jelley                                                         +4.906s
  6. Jason Plato                                                              +5.269s
  7. Aiden Moffat                                                           +5.476s
  8. Colin Turkington                                                    +6.146s
  9. Dan Rowbottom                                                     +7.740s
  10. Ollie Jackson                                                           +8.371s
  11. Tom Oliphant                                                          +8.938s
  12. Tom Ingram                                                           +10.652s
  13. Rory Butcher                                                          +11.434s
  14. Aron Taylor-Smith                                               +12.965s
  15. Jack Goff                                                                 +13.277s
  16. Adam Morgan                                                        +13.566s
  17. Senna Proctor                                                        +14.111s
  18. Josh Cook                                                               +15.390s
  19. Carl Boardley                                                         +15.487s
  20. Sam Smelt                                                              +16.120s
  21. Gordon Shedden                                                   +16.273s
  22. Rick Parfitt                                                             +20.854s
  23. Jack Butel                                                               +21.147s
  24. Jade Edwards                                                        +21.405s
  25. Sam Osborne                                                         +22.992s
  26. Andy Neate                                                             +27.816s
  27. Nic Hamilton                                                         +28.265s
  28. Tom Chilton                                                           +28.534s
  29. Jack Mitchell                                                                  DNF
  30. Andrew Jordan                                                              DNF
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top