Formula 2

Formula 2: Lawson wins Jeddah sprint as Hauger denied

Featured image credit: @formula2 official twitter

Liam Lawson took his first FIA Formula 2 victory of the season in a chaotic sprint race in Jeddah.

The Carlin driver passed Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jake Hughes late on to take the spoils. But early leader Dennis Hauger was denied by safety car confusion and a drive-through penalty, in a race heavily-disrupted by safety car interventions. 

Reigning FIA Formula 3 champion Hauger led away from pole before two safety car periods curtailed racing until the halfway mark. 

VAR’s Amaury Cordeel crashed on lap two, causing the first intervention. When the action resumed, a collision at the back of the field resulted in the safety car being deployed again. 

Starting the race from the back after a post-qualifying exclusion,  Doohan ran into Carlin’s Logan Sargeant at the restart, with both cars ending up in the wall near the pit entry.

This led to some confusion for drivers behind the safety car. Hauger drove through the pitlane on his instruction from his team, who believed they had been told to do so by race control. With nobody else following him, Hauger dropped to 12th, handing Calan Williams the lead. And, with the pitlane closed, Hauger was subsequently forced to serve a drive-through penalty. 

When racing finally resumed with seven laps remaining, Hughes lunged up the inside of the Trident driver to snatch the lead. Lawson also took advantage to pass Williams for second, and then remained within one second of Hughes. 

With three laps to go, Lawson took the lead away from Hughes, who was one of four drivers to start on the soft compound tyre.  Hitech GP’s Marcus Armstrong then spun to a halt, triggering a virtual safety car period. The Kiwi had been running in the top six. The final lap was run under green flags, with Juri Vips pipping Hughes to second on the finish line.

Sunday’s feature race polesitter Felipe Drugovich climbing from 10th to fourth, with Williams slipping back to fifth. Richard Verschoor moved up three positions to take sixth for Trident. Having been in an earlier battle for fourth with Vips and Armstrong, Ayumu Iwasa came home seventh for DAMS.

Ralph Boschung scored the final point in eighth for Campos. Jehan Daruvala was ninth for Prema ahead of Virtuosi’s Marino Sato.


Featured image credit: @formula2 official twitter

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top