FIA Formula 3: Stanek seals maiden F3 pole position in Barcelona

Feature Image Credit: Roman Stanek Instagram

Trident’s Roman Stanek impressively secured his first-ever F3 pole position in the final seconds of the frantic qualifying session in Barcelona, beating the championship leader Victor Martins to second with a 1:33.516.

The first day of the weekend in the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya seemed to be a perfect start for the Czech driver. He showed good pace in both sessions, finishing the free practice in the third-fastest and earning a pole position just a few hours later.

Despite feeling confident about taking the pole for Sunday’s Feature Race, Martins had to settle for second unexpectedly when Stanek stormed into the top spot with an even quicker lap time, despite having an error earlier in the session.

Alexander Smolyar completed the top three from the session for ART Grand Prix ahead of the Hitech’s rookie Isack Hadjar in fourth, as PREMA Racing’s Arthur Leclerc rounded out the top five.

Leclerc’s teammate Oliver Bearman made it to sixth ahead of the pacesetter Caio Collet in seventh for the second MP Motorsport car after Smolyar set the 1m33s benchmark halfway through Qualifying.

Further down, Kaylen Frederick ended up in eighth fastest as the last PREMA Racing driver Jak Crawford placed the red car in ninth, ahead of Juan Manuel Correa, who entered the top 10 after returning to the series.

The Sprint Race will start at 11.00 local times in Barcelona, with Trident’s Zane Maloney starting from the reversed pole alongside Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto on the front row.

Qualifying session results:

1 Roman Stanek 1:33.516 Trident
2 Victor Martins 1:33.568 ART Grand Prix
3 Alexander Smolyar 1:33.613 MP Motorsport
4 Isack Hadjar 1:33.726 Hitech Grand Prix
5 Arthur Leclerc 1:33.731 PREMA Racing
6 Oliver Bearman 1:33.747 PREMA Racing
7 Caio Collet 1:33.750 MP Motorsport
8 Kaylen Frederick 1:33.805 Hitech Grand Prix
9 Jak Crawford 1:33.825 PREMA Racing
10 Juan Manuel Correa 1:33.857 ART Grand Prix
11 David Vidales 1:33.873 Campos Racing
12 Zane Maloney 1:33.926 Trident
13 Franco Colapinto 1:33.963 Van Amersfoort Racing
14 Gregoire Saucy 1:34.040 ART Grand Prix
15 Oliver Rasmussen 1:34.041 Trident
16 Josep Maria Marti 1:34.117 Campos Racing
17 Reece Ushijima 1:34.180 Van Amersfoort Racing
18 Rafael Villagomez 1:34.317 Van Amersfoort Racing
19 Zak O’Sullivan 1:34.320 Carlin
20 Hunter Yeany 1:34.342 Campos Racing
21 William Alatalo 1:34.568 Jenzer Motorsport
22 Lirim Zendeli 1:34.686 Charouz Racing System
23 Kush Maini 1:34.753 MP Motorsport
24 Nazim Azman 1:34.795 Hitech Grand Prix
25 Ido Cohen 1:34.866 Jenzer Motorsport
26 Enzo Trulli 1:34.973 Carlin
27 Frederico Malvestiti 1:35.096 Jenzer Motorsport
28 Brad Benavides 1:35.337 Carlin
29 Francesco Pizzi 1:35.549 Charouz Racing System
30 Laszlo Toth 1:35.575 Charouz Racing System


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top