FIA Formula 3: Hadjar defeats compatriot Victor Martins in a thrilling last-minute battle

Feature Image Credit: FIA F3 Twitter

Isack Hadjar claimed his second Formula 3 win in his rookie season at Hitech Grand Prix’s home race after holding his nerve until the dying minutes of the race to beat the long-time race leader Victor Martins on the penultimate lap of the race.

Determined to make amends after an unwanted result in Friday’s qualifying session, Martins wasted no time diving into Van Amersfoort Racing’s rookie Reece Ushijima to snatch the race lead as the Japanese-American driver found himself under pressure from Kush Maini in the opening sectors.

However, after holding on to the lead since the lights went out, Martins had to settle for a second after sustaining pressure from Ushijima in the final few laps, allowing compatriot Hadjar to take his second Formula 3 victory for Hitech.

There was a sterling effort from Ushijima, who started on the reverse grid pole, which paid off to seal his maiden F3 podium in third, ahead of the Free Practice pacesetter Kush Maini in fourth for MP Motorsport. At the same time, Kaylen Frederick rounded out the top 5 in the second Hitech car.

Roman Stanek completed the race in sixth, as Trident teammate Zane Maloney made improvements to finish seventh from 10th, marking his third-best race finish from the season.

To finish eighth, PREMA Racing’s Arthur Leclerc outperformed both teammates, as Oliver Bearman ended the session in ninth, while Jak Crawford rounded out the top 10.

Zak O’Sullivan will be hoping for a shot at home glory in Sunday’s Feature Race when the lights go out at 8:35 local time after securing his and Carlin’s maiden F3 pole in Qualifying.

Sprint Race results:

1 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1:46.643
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1:46.777
3 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1:46.676
4 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1:46.678
5 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 1:47.176
6 Roman Stanek Trident 1:47.218
7 Zane Maloney Trident 1:47.130
8 Arthur Leclerc PREMA Racing 1:46.881
9 Oliver Bearman PREMA Racing 1:46.912
10 Jak Crawford PREMA Racing 1:47.217
11 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1:47.112
12 David Vidales Campos Racing 1:47.337
13 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1:47.314
14 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1:47.775
15 Jonny Edgar Trident 1:47.541
16 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1:47.550
17 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1:47.401
18 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1:47.345
19 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1:47.065
20 Josep Maria Marti Campos Racing 1:47.300
21 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1:47.560
22 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 1:47.597
23 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1:47.688
24 Filip Ugran MP Motorsport 1:47.588
25 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1:48.012
26 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1:47.809
27 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1:48.848
28 Brad Benavides Carlin
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System
30 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top