Di Resta Cruises to Race 2 Victory

Former F1 driver Paul Di Resta took pole for Race 2 at Hockenheim. The Scottish driver got his first pole since his return to DTM landing his Mercedes in first with a time of 1.34.060s which was set early on in the session. Joining him on the front row is the BMW of Farfus. Mercedes had 3 cars in the top 5 with Paffett in third and Wickens in fifth. Separating these two drivers is the BMW of Maxime Martin.

Audi had a terrible session compared to their domination earlier in the weekend. Their highest place being Jamie Green in 11th. Race one winner Mortara is 12th and race one pole sitter Muller is 15th and two time champion Mattias Ekstrom is far back in 20th. Rookie Esteban Ocon finished in 7th 5 places higher than First Qualifying.

Lucas Auer ended up in the gravel trap for the second time this weekend after the Austrian lost the rear end of his Mercedes at the end of the season.

1 Paul Di Resta
2 Augusto Farfus
3 Gary Paffett
4 Maxime Martin
5 Robert Wickens
6 Timo Glock
7 Esteban Ocon
8 Tom Blomqvist
9 Marco Wittmann
10 António Félix da Costa
11 Jamie Green
12 Edoardo Mortara
13 Bruno Spengler
14 Martin Tomczyk
15 Nico Müller
16 Lucas Auer
17 Maximilian Götz
18 Mike Rockenfeller
19 Adrien Tambay
20 Mattias Ekström
21 Christian Vietoris
22 Timo Scheider
23 Daniel Juncadella
24 Miguel Molina

Paul Di Resta took a dominant victory at Hockenheim in Race 2 at the circuit. The Scottish driver was followed home by Glock and Farfus although the former was disqualified after his BMW was found to have breached technical regulations.

At the start of the race, Di Resta got a lightning start of the grid while a bogged down Farfus struggled. By turn one Di Resta had already pulled a huge gap out of the hat. Maxime Martin managed to pass Farfus at turn one. As did Gary Paffett managing to jump into third. However Di Resta’s gap came to nothing as the safety car was deployed. Ocon and Spengler hit each other after Da Costa pushed Ocon towards Spengler Green tried to avoid Ocon’s car but he still made contact putting the two out of the race. Spengler was absolutely furious as he whipped the door of Ocon’s car open but however he admitted he was wrong to blame the Frenchman. Mortara also spun in a separate incident but managed to get back underway. Ocon, Green and Spengler were all out of the race and later on Da Costa was forced to retire with a puncture

Once back underway, Paul Di Resta steamed ahead of Martin. Paffet tried to pass Martin by going around the outside at the hairpin and eventually dived up the inside of Martin in the following corner. and gets up into second.

Ekstrom pulled off a great move on Gotz at the last turn after previous attempts were thwarted by the German.

Then we had Gotz against Ekstrom again. A fantastic battle and Gotz gets Ekstrom around the outside for P13. Ekstrom gets back through and simultaneously forces Gotz to go wide and bounce over the kerb.

Later and these two are still at it and Gotz gets past at turn two on the inside as does Rockenfeller on the outside.

Ekstrom loses another place as Molina and Mortana steam past him. It became clear he had damage after battles with Molina and Gotz and he retired after a colossal battle.

Farfus then passed Martin at the hairpin with a straightforward move up the inside.

In the pits Wickens and Paffett almost touched when Wickens entered his pit box and when Paffett was coming out of his. One lap later and one of Paul Di Resta’s wheels jammed in the pit lane and it looked certain Paffett would come out in front of him until getting stuck behind traffic. However this had closed the gap by quite a significant level

However a great race that was being built before our very eyes was demolished by a drive through penalty for Paffett for an unsafe release. The race played out in a fairly boring fashion with Di Resta cruising home in first miles ahead of the dueling Glock and Farfus. Timo Scheider and Juncadella retired after technical issues and Molina retired after a spin in the pit lane. Paffett managed to lift himself up from 11th after his penalty to fifth (fourth after Glock’s DQ)

1. Paul di Resta GBR Mercedes-AMG DTM Team HWA 37 laps
2. Augusto Farfus BRA BMW Team MTEK +13.905s
3. Maxime Martin BEL BMW Team RBM +14.493s
4. Gary Paffett GBR Mercedes-AMG DTM Team ART +15.055s
5. Robert Wickens CAN Mercedes-AMG DTM Team HWA +19.377s
6. Tom Blomqvist GBR BMW Team RBM +21.690s
7. Nico Muller SUI Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline +22.220s
8. Marco Wittmann GER BMW Team RMG +23.790s
9. Martin Tomczyk GER BMW Team Schnitzer +24.454s
10. Mike Rockenfeller GER Audi Sport Team Phoenix +31.303s
11. Edoardo Mortara ITA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline +50.053s
12. Maxmilian Gotz GER Mercedes-AMG DTM Team HWA +56.722s
13. Adrien Tambay FRA Audi Sport Team Rosberg +1m 02.408s
14. Christian Vietoris GER Mercedes-AMG DTM Team Mucke +1m 05.985s
15. Lucas Auer AUT Mercedes-AMG DTM Team Mucke +2 laps

Did not finish
16. Daniel Juncadella ESP Mercedes-AMG DTM Team HWA 29 laps completed
17. Miguel Molina ESP Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline 22 laps completed
18. Timo Scheider GER Audi Sport Team Phoenix 18 laps completed
19. Mattias Ekstrom SWE Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline 16 laps completed
20. Antonio Felix da Costa POR BMW Team Schnitzer 11 laps completed
21. Bruno Spengler CAN BMW Team MTEK 1 lap completed
22. Jamie Green GBR Audi Sport Team Rosberg 0 laps completed
23. Esteban Ocon FRA Mercedes-AMG DTM Team ART 0 laps completed

Timo Glock GER BMW Team RMG

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top