The countdown to Silverstone

Silverstone is possibly the single most iconic British track. The British Touring Car Championship has been coming to the track almost every year since the series began, often visiting multiple times in one year. The first race, way back in 1958, was won by Mike Hawthorn and, since then, sixty six drivers have taken wins.

The “home of British Motor Racing” has seen more than a few exciting moments in it’s long BTCC history. Over the years, both it’s National and Grand Prix circuit have been used by the series, but now the 1.64 mile National circuit layout is used, with six corners and several overtaking opportunities.

Andy Rouse has taken the most wins from the Northamptonshire track, eighteen in total. Of the drivers currently on the track, Plato has taken the most wins, only seven behind Rouse.

Most wins at Silverstone:

Andy Rouse (18)
Jason Plato (11)
Frank Gardner (8)
Matt Neal (6)
James Thompson (6)
Jeff Allam (6)
Brian Muir (5)
Steve Soper (5)
Stuart Graham (5)
Tom Chilton (5)

Feature Image Credit: Caroline Rhea

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top