Triple Eight Racing announce new driver line up

Aron Taylor-Smith and Daniel Lloyd will join Triple Eight Racing for the team’s 2017 British Touring Car campaign.

Whilst neither driver will be classed as a rookie, both have youth on their side. Taylor-Smith, already a proven race winner, will be making the switch from Team BKR, who ran in the championship last season, whilst Daniel Lloyd only raced in a few rounds last season with Eurotech Racing, and a single round in 2010 with a Triple Eight run outfit.

Both drivers will be piloting the team’s MG6 GTs, recently vacated by Josh Cook and Ashley Sutton.

Triple Eight have high hopes for their new recruits, building on the experiences both drivers already have.

“I’m happy that these guys will deliver some solid results for the team,” said team boss Ian Harrison. “Aron is a proven race winner, and we know Daniel has the speed. With more BTCC race experience under his belt, he will be running at the front. The championship looks wide open this year with plenty of other changes in the line-up, and we expect to be right in the mix.”

The team came fifth in the teams’ championship last season with only a single victory, but helped rookie Ashley Sutton to win the Jack Sears Trophy.

It’s unknown where Sutton will be racing next year, though his connection to BMR make a Subaru seat a strong possibility. It’s understood Cook will be taking some time away from the BTCC.

Feature image credit: Caroline Rhea

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top