British Rallycross: Decade high Supercar entry boosted by WRX drivers

Feature Image Credit: Overtake Motorsport

16 different drivers across 14 cars are set to compete in the British Rallycross Championship double header this weekend. The entry list is strengthened by World Rallycross drivers, Liam Doran, Andreas Bakkerud, Oliver Bennett and Enzo Ide.

Not since 2010 have 14 different cars lined up on a British Rallycross Supercar grid but that is what to expect come this Sunday at Lydden Hill. After an early end to the World Rallycross season several drivers have turned their attention to the last rallycross event in Europe this year. RX Cartel pairing Liam Doran and Andreas Bakkerud will take turns behind the wheel of a JC Raceteknik Audi A1. The British Bomb will race the car on Saturday before handing over the reigns to Bakkerud on Sunday. Team JC will run a second car for Enzo Ide on both days. The Belgian former GT driver has raced in World and Nordic Rallycross this season and made the semi-finals at the last race of the WRX season. Doran’s father and 4 times champion, Pat Doran will return to the series once again in the family run Citroen C4. Doran Snr competed in the Retro 4×4 category back in August taking victory. Oliver Bennett will also return to the series. The British ace comfortably won qualifying at round 1 but was disqualified for using the wrong fuel. He will return in his BMW Mini.

Image Credit: Overtake Motorsport

Jack Thorne makes his rallycross return in the Ford Fiesta in which he took second place at Lydden last year. Due to budgetary issues that was his only outing last year and he missed the opening round of the season. John McGuinness will finally make his long awaited Supercar debut. The 23-time Isle of Man TT winner was set to compete in Scotland before that round was cancelled. McGuinness will race a Team RX Racing Ford Focus on Saturday. Rallycross journalist Hal Ridge will take over the car for round 3 as he competes in his first Supercar outing.

British Rallycross Championship leader Mark Donnelly will be back behind the wheel of a Citroen DS3. In only his second Supercar outing Donnelly took full use of pole position in his semi-final and came through to win the final as well. This bagged him the maximum of 14 points with Julian Godfrey 1 point back. The 6-time champion will be back this weekend to try and take the championship lead. Ollie O’Donovan will also look to make inroads to Donnelly’s lead with the 2007 champ 4 points back after finishing third in August. O’Donovan will race his Ford Fiesta though may drive a new car for the season finale in January. Championship regular Steve Hill will line-up his Mitsubishi Evo 10 once again. Both Tristan Ovenden and Mike Sellar will return in their Citroen DS3s.

Image Credit: Overtake Motorsport

Mark Flaherty will return to the cockpit after failing to race at the opening round. Flaherty jumped the start in Q1 and on the restart his car caught fire. While the damage was small it damaged the manifold and couldn’t be replaced. The final returning driver is Dom Flitney in a Subaru Impreza. Flintey competed in the opening round but suffered an engine failure in the semi-finals and retired immediately. The Cambridgeshire farmer will only compete on Sunday.

It means that 13 cars will race on Saturday with 14 set to compete on Sunday. In total 74 different drivers will compete this weekend. The Super 1600 class has been boosted by 3 European entries bringing it up to 5 cars. Racing will go on into the night on both days with sunset before 4pm. This will be the first British Rallycross night race since 2010 as floodlights have been erected. Due to Lydden Hill being in Tier 3 spectators are not allowed.

Feature Image Credit: Overtake Motorsport

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top