BTCC: Ingram takes victory after last lap pass

@BTCC on Twitter

Tom Ingram took victory in round 8 of the season after passing Tom Oliphant on the final lap at Brands Hatch.

Oliphant had led every lap until the pass into Paddock Hill Bend on the final tour in which contact between the two drivers was made.

Ingram made contact with the rear-right of Oliphant’s car putting the BMW wide and giving the Hyundai driver the inside line into Druids.

Polesitter Oliphant had made a spectacular start, taking the lead by over 2 seconds at the end of lap 1.

Fellow front row starter Shedden had started poorly, before being half-spun by Jake Hill into Paddock Hill Bend dropping the Honda out of the top 10.

Shedden’s dramas weren’t over, after making contact with Stephen Jelley into Paddock Hill Bend on lap 2, both drivers were sent off into the gravel at high speed.

Jelley retired immediately and Shedden rejoined in 27th and the Safety Car was called during the recover Jelley’s BMW.

Oliphant restarted well, with Rowbottom in second, Tom Ingram in third and Jake Hill fourth.

The ballast clearly affected Oliphant’s pace with Rowbottom attempting to pass the BMW multiple times without success.

Hill was able to pass the Hyundai of Ingram and immediately set about trying to pass Rowbottom for second.

But Hill went off track soon after with a left-front puncture coming into Clearways.

Hill’s incident gave Rowbottom breathing room from behind and instantly made a move around the outside of Druids before being pushed off the track at the exit of the corner.

This gave Ingram the opportunity to take second from the Honda driver before passing Oliphant on the final lap.

Ingram took the chequered flag ahead of Sutton, who just pipped Oliphant to the line by 0.038s.

Round 8 Results

  1. Tom Ingram                                   24:56.451
  2. Ash Sutton                                       +0.489s
  3. Tom Oliphant                                   +0.527s
  4. Dan Rowbottom                              +0.972s
  5. Josh Cook                                        +1.213s
  6. Dan Lloyd                                        +1.630s
  7. Chris Smiley                                     +1.957s
  8. Jason Plato                                      +2.194s
  9. Aidan Moffat                                   +8.394s
  10. Senna Proctor                                 +8.794s
  11. Jack Goff                                         +9.232s
  12. Adam Morgan                               +10.066s
  13. Tom Chilton                                   +10.468s
  14. Rory Butcher                                  +11.212s
  15. Aron Taylor-Smith                         +11.559s
  16. Ollie Jackson                                  +13.169s
  17. Colin Turkington                            +13.590s
  18. Sam Smelt                                      +14.034s
  19. Sam Osborne                                 +14.909s
  20. Carl Boardley                                 +15.251s
  21. Jack Butel                                       +15.518s
  22. Gordon Shedden                           +19.035s
  23. Jade Edwards                                 +20.337s
  24. Rick Parfitt                                     +22.885s
  25. Andy Neate                                    +23.690s
  26. Nic Hamilton                                  +23.986s
  27. Jake Hill                                              2 Laps
  28. Glynn Geddie                                        DNF
  29. Stephen Jelley                                       DNF


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top