BTCC Finale: Champion Sutton rounds off season in style

@LaserRacing on Twitter

Newly crowned champion Ash Sutton took a classy final round victory at Brands Hatch to finish his season in terrific style.

Stephen Jelley started on pole after the reverse grid draw and started well, staying in front of Tom Chilton.

It didn’t last long for the Ciceley driver as newly crowned champion Sutton got ahead of Chilton before the end of lap 1.

Dan Rowbottom made it three cars in the lead battle by the end of lap 2.

Sutton took the lead into Paddock Hill on lap 4 and Rowbottom followed through, putting Jelley into third.

The maniacal first few laps continued with Josh Cook, Tom Ingram, Tom Chilton all getting involved with Jelley and despite contact through Dingle Dell, all got through the battle.

The Safety Car was then brought out after Jack Mitchell crashed at Hawthorns.

It was a particularly long Safety Car period and racing restarting on lap 10.

Sutton kept ahead of Rowbottom with Chilton in third.

Chilton then started to fall down the order after being past by Ingram, Cook and Hill respectively.

The gaps at the front of the field were quite consistent with only Ingram closing in on Rowbottom.

Although Ingram closed in on the Honda, Rowbottom kept his cool to take second place.

Hill finished fourth ahead of Cook and Chilton.

After battling for the majority of the race Gordon Shedden was able to just keep Jack Goff behind, finishing in seventh and eighth respectively.

Rory Butcher and Jason Plato rounded out the top 10.

Round 30 Results

  1. Ash Sutton                                                           30:22.671s
  2. Dan Rowbottom                                                      +1.369s
  3. Tom Ingram                                                             +1.502s
  4. Jake Hill                                                                   +3.274s
  5. Josh Cook                                                                 +8.001s
  6. Tom Chilton                                                             +8.960s
  7. Gordon Shedden                                                     +9.602s
  8. Jack Goff                                                                +10.043s
  9. Rory Butcher                                                         +11.992s
  10. Jason Plato                                                            +13.002s
  11. Ollie Jackson                                                         +14.806s
  12. Chris Smiley                                                          +15.345s
  13. Dan Lloyd                                                              +15.962s
  14. Aron Taylor-Smith                                              +17.214s
  15. Tom Oliphant                                                        +17.461s
  16. Adam Morgan                                                       +17.697s
  17. Sam Osbourne                                                      +19.176s
  18. Aiden Moffat                                                         +19.397s
  19. Senna Proctor                                                       +20.545s
  20. Jade Edwards                                                       +21.143s
  21. Sam Smelt                                                             +21.462s
  22. Andy Neate                                                           +31.965s
  23. Nic Hamilton                                                       +32.503s
  24. Stephen Jelley                                                      +42.147s
  25. Andy Wilmot                                                           1 Lap
  26. Jack Mitchell                                                               DNF
  27. Colin Turkington                                                        DNF
  28. Carl Boardley                                                               DNF
  29. Rick Parfitt                                                                   DNS





code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top