FIA Formula 3: Dennis Hauger wins a thrilling opening race of round 3

Feature Image Credit: Prema Racing Twitter

Dennis Hauger’s domination continued to thrive in the third round of the season as the Norwegian driver sealed his second F3 win after the two race leaders handed the race lead to him.

Red Bull juniors love winning in the fabulous Red Bull Ring circuit, with the chain that started in 2019 with Jüri Vips scoring a win for the team in Formula 2 and Liam Lawson scored another victory in 2020. 

Hauger marked their third win in a row with a crucial battle between the two race leaders as Matteo Nannini and Clement Novalak got dragged into the gravel, advantaging Hauger to move into the first place.

With just three laps to go, Caldwell got promoted to P2 and Logan Sargeant behind the Briton as the yellow flag got released shortly after the incident.

Hauger crossed the chequered flag firstly for PREMA Racing before his teammate catches him up at the front with Charouz Racing System’s Logan Sargeant completing the podium from Race 1.

It was an excellent day for PREMA Racing with two of their drivers on the podium, but it was also a tragic day for Arthur Leclerc as he retired from the race after touching the wall on lap 11.

Victor Martins finished the race in fourth fastest for MP motorsport. He dropped four positions back at the beginning of the battle, starting from P3 as the Frenchman gained his positions back after the incident with Hitech’s Jak Crawford in fifth, securing his best race finish.

MP Motorsport’s second driver Caio Collet managed to end the race in sixth fastest ahead of trident’s Jack Doohan in seventh, along with the race long-time race leader Matteo Nannini in seventh for HWA Racelab.

Third Red Bull Junior driver Ayumu Iwasa finished the opening race of the Austrian Grand Prix in ninth for Hitech and the two-time FIA Formula 3 race winner Alexander Smolyar in the tenth place.

Race 2 will start at 17:45 local time in Austria, with Trident’s David Schumacher taking the pole position.

Race 1 result:

1 Dennis Hauger PREMA Racing
2 Olli Caldwell PREMA Racing
3 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System
4 Victor Martins MP Motorsport
5 Jak Crawford Hitech Grand Prix
6 Caio Collet MP Motorsport
7 Jack Doohan Trident
8 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab
9 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech Grand Prix
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix
11 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System
12 Jonny Edgar Carlin Buzz Racing
13 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix
14 Kaylen Frederick Carlin Buzz Racing
15 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix
16 Roman Stanek Hitech Grand Prix
17 David Schumacher Trident
18 Tjimen Van Der Helm MP Motorsport
19 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport
20 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport
21 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing
22 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing
23 Reshad De Gerus Charouz Racing System
24 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab
25 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport
26 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing
27 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab
28 Clement Novalak Trident
29 Arthur Leclerc PREMA Racing
30 Ido Cohen Carlin Buzz Racing


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top