Formula 2

Formula 2: Piastri takes second feature race win in a row at Sochi

Featured image credit: @formula2 official twitter

Oscar Piastri pulled further clear in the FIA Formula 2 title race with a dominant feature race victory at Sochi Autodrom.

The Prema driver finished 1.9 seconds clear of ART’s Theo Pourchaire, with Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala completing the podium.

Piastri led away from pole at the start, while Pourchaire came out on top in a three-wide battle with Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung and Daruvala to take second into turn two.

After trailing Piastri until the mandatory stops, Pourchaire briefly rejoined ahead after pitting one lap later. But, on cold tyres, he was unable to prevent Piastri moving back past into fifth on the road, as Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson led the way on an alternate strategy.

Piastri made his way by Roy Nissany (DAMS), Marino Sato (Trident) and Guilherme Samaia (Charouz) into second, and reclaimed the lead once Lawson pitted before controlling the gap to Pourchaire until the finish.

Duravala home a further 10s back in a lonely third, having taken advantage of a lock-up from Boschung to take the position with six laps to go.

Prema’s Robert Shwartzman then pounced to take fourth from Boschung, who soon retired with a puncture.

Carlin’s Dan Ticktum held off Zhou to finish fifth, while Lawson was seventh ahead of MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor, ART’s Christian Lundgaard and Campos driver David Beckmann.

HWA’s Jake Hughes finished last of the runners in 18th after a spin, having ran sixth early on.

Hitech’s Juri Vips stopped with a technical issue after making his pitstop, while Trident’s Bent Viscaal retired on the opening lap after contact with Nissany, who received a 5s time penalty for the incident.

Virtuosi’s Felipe Drugovich did not start, having been declared unfit to race following his crash before Saturday’s sprint race.

Race result (28 laps)

1 Oscar Piastri Prema
2 Theo Pourchaire ART +1.928s
3 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +12.601s
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema +14.485s
5 Dan Ticktum Carlin +18.058s
6 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi +22.177s
7 Liam Lawson Hitech +30.596s
8 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +33.451s
9 Christian Lundgaard ART +37.775s
10 David Beckmann Campos +39.118s
11 Marcus Armstrong DAMS +43.824s
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz +44.482s
13 Guilherme Samaia Charouz +45.798s
14 Marino Sato Trident +51.902s
15 Roy Nissany DAMS +58.191s
16 Lirim Zendelli MP Motorsport +1m08.370s
17 Alessio Deledda HWA +1m24.953s
18 Jake Hughes HWA +1 lap
DNF Ralph Boschung Campos
DNF Juri Vips Hitech GP
DNF Bent Viscaal Trident
DNS Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi


Featured image credit: @formula2 official twitter

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top