FIA Formula 3: Crawford earns phenomenal maiden Formula 3 win

Feature Image Credit: Jak Crawford Instagram

Jak Crawford took his first-ever FIA Formula 3 race victory in a hectic Sprint Race around the Red Bull Ring circuit. The PREMA Racing driver was clinical in taking the lead of the race from the reverse polesitter Caio Collet, who had to settle for second.

As the sun slowly peaked through the clouds, Collet retained the lead into the first corner, as Franco Colapinto and Jak Crawford were dueling for third, just before the first safety car was out to neutralize the race.

Later in the race, Crawford dived down the inside of Colapinto for second. Eventually, he swooped outside Collet to take the lead with just five laps to go, as the situation became hectic for the drivers behind him.

Collet scored his best result of the year in second for MP Motorsport, as Colapinto brought the third-place podium home for Van Amersfoort Racing for the second time of the season.

Arthur Leclerc repeated his teammate’s effort to take fourth from Jonny Edgar, as Oliver Bearman almost made it to the top three, but then he had to concede in the battle with Victor Martins in fighting for eighth.

Roman Stanek completed the race in fifth when his Trident teammate Jonny Edgar opened the door for Hitech Grand Prix’s Kaylen Frederick to claim sixth. Edgar only finished seventh, as Championship leader Victor Martins was eighth for ART Grand Prix.

Further down, Alexander Smolyar finished ninth in the second MP Motorsport car as last Sprint Race’s winner Isack Hadjar rounded out the top 10 for Hitech.

The 30-strong grid will be back in action on Sunday for the Feature Race that will take place at 08.35 local times, with Hadjar starting from pole position alongside his main title rival Victor Martins on the front row.

Sprint Race results:

1 Jak Crawford PREMA Racing
2 Caio Collet MP Motorsport
3 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing
4 Arthur Leclerc PREMA Racing
5 Roman Stanek Trident
6 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix
7 Jonny Edgar Trident
8 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix
9 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport
10 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix
11 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix
12 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
13 Juan Maria Marti Campos Racing
14 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport
15 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System
16 Oliver Bearman PREMA Racing
17 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing
18 Kush Maini MP Motorsport
19 Brad Benavides Carlin
20 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport
21 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing
22 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System
23 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix
24 David Vidales Campos Racing
25 Enzo Trulli Carlin
26 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site thefootballforecast.com
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top