BTCC: Sutton takes victory in wet-dry thriller

@AsuttonRacing on Twitter

Reigning champion Ash Sutton was victorious in the final race of the day at Thruxton where rain meant tyre strategy was all important.

Sutton started on wet tyres whilst Jake Hill, Tom Oliphant, Chris Smiley and Adam Morgan started on slicks.

Polesitter Stephen Jelley held onto the lead with Sutton jumping up to second and Oliphant eventually dropping down to 14th by the end of the first lap.

Sutton passed Jelley into Seagrave on lap 2, with Turkington taking advantage of battle to take second from Jelley.

The top three were able to break away from the rest of the pack with Moffat the cork-in-the-bottle ahead of Jason Plato, Dan Cammish and Ollie Jackson.

It wasn’t until lap 5 that Oliphant and Hill were able to lap quicker than the leaders with the BMW driver setting the fastest lap in the process.

By lap 9, Hill was into second ahead of Oliphant and Turkington.

Hill took he lead from Sutton a lap later, with Oliphant following suit later that lap.

However, as soon as Hill took the lead the rain increased, threatening to nullify the advantage both he and Oliphant had, but both were able to keep a stable gap to Sutton in third.

As the wet shod drivers began to lap quicker than those on dry tyres, Sutton was able to overtake Oliphant for second and close in on Hill.

It was just a matter of time until Sutton attempted to overtake Hill and did so through Goodwood on lap 14.

From there Sutton was unchallenged with Hill just losing out on second to Plato on the run to the line.

Gordon Shedden had a spectacular race to finish fourth ahead of Dan Lloyd and Turkington.

Oliphant ended up in seventh despite receiving a mid race penalty.

Jack Goff came home eighth ahead of Ollie Jackson and polesitter Jelley in 10th.

Race 3 Results

  1. Ash Sutton                                          22:47.671
  2. Jason Plato                                            +4.789s
  3. Jake Hill                                                 +4.859s
  4. Gordon Shedden                                   +5.025s
  5. Dan Lloyd                                              +9.927s
  6. Colin Turkington                                  +10.105s
  7. Tom Oliphant                                       +13.212s
  8. Jack Goff                                              +14.014s
  9. Ollie Jackson                                        +16.377s
  10. Stephen Jelley                                      +18.713s
  11. Aron Taylor-Smith                                +21.321s
  12. Sam Osbourne                                     +24.962s
  13. Tom Chilton                                          +25.188s
  14. Sam Smelt                                            +25.722s
  15. Chris Smiley                                         +38.847s
  16. Rick Parfitt Jr.                                       +40.064s
  17. Nic Hamilton                                       +52.655s
  18. Adam Morgan                                     +55.339s
  19. Jack Butel                                               + 1 Lap
  20. Josh Cook                                              + 1 Lap
  21. Dan Rowbottom                                    + 1 Lap
  22. Tom Ingram                                            +1 Lap
  23. Carl Boardley                                         +2 Laps
  24. Rory Butcher                                          +2 Laps
  25. Dan Cammish                                        +2 Laps
  26. Aiden Moffat                                         +7 Laps
  27. Jade Edwards                                       +13 Laps
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top