BTCC: Moffat takes first career pole after multiple red flags

@LaserRacing on Twitter

Aiden Moffat took pole at Croft after a hectic session which saw two red flags and the top 22 covered by less than a second.

WSR’s Stephen Jelley took provisional pole early on but running was quickly halted after Rory Butcher stopped out on track after what appeared to be a engine issue.

Jake Hill took over from Jelley at the top of the timesheets after running restarted but was soon usurped by Colin Turkington before the second red flag of the day was shown to recover the stricken Cupra of Nic Hamilton.

The session length was cut down after the red flag, meaning just 10 minutes remained.

With less than three minutes remaining Moffat jumped to the top of the timesheets with Jake Hill joining the Scot on the front row.

Turkington held onto third ahead of Senna Proctor and Adam Morgan.

Tom Oliphant qualified sixth just in front of Josh Cook and championship leader Ash Sutton.

Dan Rowbottom and Jason Plato round out the top 10.

Qualifying Results

  1. Aiden Moffat                            1:22.037
  2. Jake Hill                                    +0.040s
  3. Colin Turkington                     +0.122s
  4. Senna Proctor                           +0.132s
  5. Adam Morgan                          +0.149s
  6. Tom Oliphant                           +0.153s
  7. Josh Cook                                  +0.177s
  8. Ash Sutton                                +0.260s
  9. Dan Rowbottom                      +0.293s
  10. Jason Plato                               +0.376s
  11. Ollie Jackson                            +0.401s
  12. Stephen Jelley                          +0.465s
  13. Chris Smiley                             +0.506s
  14. Dan Lloyd                                 +0.508s
  15. Tom Chilton                             +0.536s
  16. Jack Goff                                   +0.566s
  17. Gordon Shedden                     +0.592s
  18. Sam Smelt                                +0.618s
  19. Sam Osborne                           +0.636s
  20. Carl Boardley                           +0.697s
  21. Tom Ingram                             +0.809s
  22. Aron Taylor-Smith                 +0.957s
  23. Jade Edwards                          +1.182s
  24. Jack Mitchell                           +1.239s
  25. Jack Butel                                +1.282s
  26. Andy Neate                              +1.913s
  27. Nick Halstead                         +2.956s
  28. Nic Hamilton                          +5.223s
  29. Rory Butcher                         No Time
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top