BTCC: Moffat holds off Hill to take first victory of 2021

@LaserRacing on Twitter

Aiden Moffat took a lights-to-flag victory at Croft, holding off the charging Jake Hill throughout.

The start of the race was damp with Moffat keeping the lead from Hill and Colin Turkington.

Senna Proctor then passed Turkington into Tower putting himself into the podium positions.

Despite carrying more success ballast than Moffat, Hill closed into the back of the Infiniti by the end of lap 2, and immediately put pressure on the leader.

Hill attempted to make a move into Sunny In, but contact was made giving Proctor and Turkington the chance to close up.

The Safety Car was then brought out on lap 5 to clear up Dan Rowbottom’s Honda after contact with Aron Taylor-Smith.

The race was extended from 15 laps to 18 laps after the Safety Car period.

After the restart, Hill was again putting pressure on Moffat however couldn’t find a way past.

Moffat was able to keep Hill behind throughout the rest of the race and although Hill attempted a move at the final corner, Moffat took the chequered flag by just 0.520s.

Proctor completed the podium just ahead of Turkington and Josh Cook.

Championship leader Ash Sutton finished sixth ahead of Chris Smiley and Adam Morgan.

Dan Lloyd and Gordon Shedden completed the top 10.

Croft Race 1 Results

  1. Aiden Moffat                                         27:26.297
  2. Jake Hill                                                   +0.520s
  3. Senna Proctor                                          +1.888s
  4. Colin Turkington                                    +2.269s
  5. Josh Cook                                                 +2.877s
  6. Ash Sutton                                               +4.502s
  7. Chris Smiley                                            +5.447s
  8. Adam Morgan                                         +6.728s
  9. Dan Lloyd                                                +7.337s
  10. Gordon Shedden                                    +8.043s
  11. Tom Chilton                                            +8.808s
  12. Tom Ingram                                            +9.776s
  13. Stephen Jelley                                      +10.064s
  14. Aron Taylor-Smith                               +11.359s
  15. Carl Boardley                                        +11.970s
  16. Sam Osborne                                        +12.649s
  17. Jason Plato                                            +13.576s
  18. Jack Goff                                                +14.276s
  19. Rory Butcher                                         +14.941s
  20. Tom Oliphant                                        +15.167s
  21. Sam Smelt                                              +16.101s
  22. Jack Mitchell                                         +17.614s
  23. Jack Butel                                              +23.884s
  24. Andy Neate                                            +29.719s
  25. Nic Hamilton                                        +30.118s
  26. Nick Halstead                                       +34.270s
  27. Jade Edwards                                              1 Lap
  28. Dan Rowbottom                                      15 Laps
  29. Ollie Jackson                                           15 Laps
code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top