WRX: Kristoffersson defends his title in closest WRX season


The championship battle went to the final round with the last two champions, Johan Kristoffersson for KYB EKS JC and Timmy Hansen for Hansen World RX Team, in contention.


The 2021 FIA World Rallycross season saw a depleted entry with only six driver’s competing in the full nine events of the championship. This, however, did not stop it from being a thriller with the driver’s title going down to the very last race.


Going into the double-header at the Nurburgring, the final event of the season, Kristoffersson was 17 points shy of Hansen who had led the championship from round two. Winning on the first day for Kristoffersson and a disqualification for Hansen meant the difference was cut to four points going into the season finale.


The final race of the season saw them just one point apart, and at the end of the day they were tied on points. Kristoffersson won his fourth FIA World Rallycross Championship on countback of number of wins, Kristoffersson on three and Hansen on two.


There were only two other event winners over the season and that was Niclas Gronholm for GRX-SET World RX Team who took three wins including the season finale, and Kevin Hansen the second of the Hansen World RX Team drivers who took the very first win of the season. The win at the Nurburgring jumped Gronholm up to third place in the driver’s championship ahead of Kevin Hansen.


The team’s championship went the way of Hansen World RX Team, their third title in FIA World Rallycross. They won this title by 49 points, with GRX-SET World RX Team coming second 17 points ahead of KYB EKS JC. Krisztian Szabo and Enzo Ide were the team’s two supporting drivers respectively.


The champions in the support categories were Guillaume De Ridder in RX2E, Andreas Bakkerud in Euro RX1 and Yury Belevskiy in Euro RX3.


The 2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship is scheduled to start in Holjes, Sweden on 2-3 July. This will be the first of a 12 round championship over seven weekends, and the first season in the new electric era.

code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site thefootballforecast.com
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top