BTCC: Cook takes victory, Sutton spins

@cooksport on Twitter

Josh Cook took a commanding victory at Thruxton after polesitter Ash Sutton was sent into a spin by Colin Turkington on lap one.

Sutton had made a stunning start, but spun midway through Cobb dropping him to the back of the field, giving Cook the lead from Turkington and Tom Ingram.

Whilst it looked like Sutton had spun on his own, replays showed Turkington had hit him whilst he was battling Cook.

Before the race could settle, the Safety Car was brought out after Gordon Shedden was collected by Chris Smiley coming out of Noble.

Later in the lap Tom Oliphant was sent spinning on the way to the Club chicane, dropping him behind Sutton.

The race restarted on lap seven with Cook ahead of Ingram and Jake Hill.

Ingram immediately pressured Cook but BTC Racing driver was able to hold him off.

Cook was able to pull away from the following trio giving him a 1.5s gap with just over half the race completed.

With four laps to go the rain arrived however, it wasn’t heavy enough to affect the lap times.

Despite the rain the race had settled down with Cook taking victory from Ingram and Hill completing the podium.

Turkington came home fourth ahead of Dan Cammish and Rory Butcher with Jason Plato in seventh.

Daniel Rowbottom finished eighth on his debut for Team Dynamics with Adam Morgan in ninth and the recovering Sutton finishing 10th.

Race 1 Results

  1. Josh Cook                                       29:33.844
  2. Tom Ingram                                       +2.298s
  3. Jake Hill                                             +4.227s
  4. Colin Turkington                              +4.825s
  5. Dan Cammish                                    +9.323s
  6. Rory Butcher                                    +11.758s
  7. Jason Plato                                       +12.046s
  8. Daniel Rowbottom                         +12.607s
  9. Adam Morgan                                  +19.612s
  10. Ash Sutton                                       +21.259s
  11. Aiden Moffat                                    +22.760s
  12. Carl Boardley                                    +26.391s
  13. Jack Goff                                           +26.720s
  14. Tom Chilton                                      +27.138s
  15. Tom  Oliphant                                   +27.448s
  16. Dan Lloyd                                         +27.791s
  17. Sam Osbourne                                 +29.846s
  18. Aron Taylor-Smith                            +31.038s
  19. Ollie Jackson                                    +33.636s
  20. Jade Edwards                                   +38.774s
  21. Jack Butel                                         +41.015s
  22. Glynn Geddie                                   +41.932s
  23. Sam Smelt                                        +42.886s
  24. Andy Neate                                      +45.545s
  25. Rick Parfitt Jr.                                   +45.928s
  26. Nic Hamilton                                     +2 Laps
  27. Stephen Jelley                                   +9 Laps
  28. Gordon Shedden                                   DNF
  29. Chris Smiley                                           DNF


code Copy and paste this code on your eligible site
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

Most Popular

To Top